Available:*

Library
Copy
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Corning - Southeast Steuben County Library 1 332.401 HAM Adult Paperback NonFiction Book
Searching...
Horseheads Free Library 1 332.4 HAM Adult Paperback NonFiction Book
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The acclaimed author of Time Warped tackles the very latest research in the fields of neuroscience, psychology, and biology to provide a fresh, fascinating, and thought-provoking look at our relationship with money--perfect for fans of Dan Ariely and Freakonomics.

We know we need money and we often want more of it, but we don't always think about the way it affects our minds and our emotions, skews our perceptions and even changes the way we behave.

Award-winning BBC Radio 4 host Claudia Hammond delves into the surprising psychology of money to show us that our relationship with the stuff is more complex than we might think. Drawing on the latest research in psychology, neuroscience and behavioural economics, she draws an anatomy of the power it holds over us. She also reveals some simple and effective tricks that will help you use and save money better--from how being grumpy can stop you getting ripped off to why you should opt for the more expensive pain relief and why you should never offer to pay your friends for favours.

An eye-opening and entertaining investigation into the power money holds over us, Mind over Money will change the way you view the cash in your wallet and the figures in your bank account forever.

Mind over Money is an invaluable resource for anyone fascinated by the dynamics of money and for those wishing to learn how to maximize its power and greatest benefit.


Author Notes

Claudia Hammond is an award-winning broadcaster, writer, and psychology lecturer. She is the host of All in the Mind and Mind Changers on BBC Radio 4 and Health Check on BBC World Service Radio and BBC World News TV. She is a columnist for BBC.com and regularly appears on Impact on BBC World News to discuss research in psychology. Claudia is on the part-time faculty at Boston University's London base, where she lectures in health and social psychology.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Hammond combines her considerable skills as a journalist, writer, and psychology teacher in this witty, wise, well-researched look at humans' complicated relationship with money. She begins, The ills of our society are not caused by money itself, but the way we use it. So how can we all do a better job of using money for good rather than ill? She devotes the rest of her entertaining, convincing book to answering that question, citing 263 studies to bolster her arguments. Some takeaways: spend on experiences rather than just things; pay with cash rather than credit cards (or at least envision the cash); and recognize that judicious praise can be a bigger motivator than money. (Young kids offered money to draw pictures put down their pencils the second a bell rings for break, whereas those who aren't paid keep intently making art.) Beware of deals, too. Part history, part anecdotes, part research, part tips, Hammond's deep look into our conflicted, world-shaping involvement with money provides striking insights, sage advice, humor, and much food for thought. For example: Money will only help us to live a more fulfilled life if we know what to do with it. --Springen, Karen Copyright 2016 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

BBC radio host Hammond (Time Warped) writes, "Psychology shows that although sometimes we appear to make irrational choices about our money, in the longer term those decisions can turn out to be quite sensible." That may be true, but the argument isn't much helped by Hammond's concise summaries of numerous-by her count, 263-psychological experiments researchers have conducted to learn how money changes our thoughts, feelings, and actions. What's missing is a clear rationale for including consumer-focused insights into such subjects as pricing, attitudes toward poverty, and saving side by side with advice for charity fund-raisers and an analysis of compensation schemes for London financiers. Instead of actionable advice, Hammond offers 32 tips such as "Don't choose the same lottery numbers every week or you will never be able to stop playing" and "When you go to a restaurant with a group of friends, don't agree to sharing the bill equally until everyone has ordered." Britishisms such as "loo rolls" and examples that use British pounds and euros rather than U.S. dollars may put off some American readers of this U.K. import. (Nov.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

BBC Radio 4 presenter Hammond (Time Warped) presents an intriguing analysis of the psychology of money and the complexity of our relationship with it. Delving into research in psychology, behavioral economics, neuroscience, history, and sociology, Hammond explains why currency has such a powerful influence on human behavior and thinking. She also includes numerous tips and tricks designed to help use and save it. The clearly written chapters address the early relationship with money formed during childhood, the puzzling carelessness the more expensive an item, why we hate losing money while recklessly gambling to win it, the importance of product pricing, the dynamics of saving, the joy of spending, why giving money away makes us feel better, and the influence of poverty on IQ and bad financial decisions. VERDICT While Hammond's blend of diverse research results covers more fields than found in Eric -Tyson's Mind Over Money or Brad Klontz's and Ted Klontz's Mind Over Money, either of those works should suffice for most public libraries. University libraries might prefer -Hammond's title with its broader empirical base that summarizes numerous experiments about money, while connecting with readers interested in learning more about the rich, complex relationship most people have with money.-Dale Farris, Groves, TX © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Table of Contents

Introductionp. 1
1 From Cradle to Gravep. 9
2 Holding Foldingp. 33
3 Mental Accountsp. 57
4 To Have and to Holdp. 69
5 The Price Is Rightp. 83
51/2 Loose Changep. 114
6 Money the Motivator?p. 121
7 Just Rewardsp. 148
8 Money Tips for Bankersp. 174
9 Money, Money, Moneyp. 185
10 Poverty of Thinkingp. 211
11 Bad Moneyp. 232
12 Good Moneyp. 271
13 For a Rainy Dayp. 294
14 The Joy of Spendingp. 317
15 Money Tipsp. 328
Notesp. 332
Recommendations for Additional Readingp. 363
Indexp. 364
Acknowledgementsp. 371

Google Preview

Select a list
Make this your default list.
The following items were successfully added.
    There was an error while adding the following items. Please try again.